Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-24 - 9:25 p.m.

Mom's making me nuttier than I already am. Sigh. I love her to death, but honestly, you'd think she was born old the way she acts most of the time, and she's not even sixty yet. Wednesday night my friend Lyn called me at 9:30 p.m., and we talked until 10:30 p.m. Evidently I got a little too loud at one point, woke mom up, and she threw a hissy fit about it demanding I get off the phone. It's not like it was 1:30 a.m. in the morning! Sheesh! I don't think she ever talked to friends on the phone at night when she was young.

I have this crappy job where I sometimes get bleach/acids/etc. on my clothes at work and get holes in the shirts/jeans. Altough in my current job, it's mainly bleach, and I'm very careful with it, and don't get it on me much any more (it's been months). I got bitched out by mom for wearing a shirt she gave me for Christmas to work. Honestly. She said it was one of my few decent shirts!?! What? Most of my shirts are decent, it's my jeans that need work. I love to buy shirts, but hate buying pants. It's such a hassle to try them on.

Ever wish for list owners to actually enforce list rules? I'm so tired of one-liners in my emails I could scream. Or the rudeness in general on some of the lists I'm on right now. If they don't calm down soon, I'm unsubbing.

Could the show Fastlane get any slashier? I swear it's got to be a conscious decision to make it so subtext-y between the two male leads. It just leaps off the screen. I love it. Not to mention last week's Fastlane, where Billie pretended to be a lesbian to catch a couple of lesbian crooks or was it pretense? Hmmmm. The show doesn't tell you. The subtext on this show reminds me of Xena. Xena's coming out on dvd--yes!!! Heh. That sounds wrong, doesn't it? grin. Can't wait. I'm firmly in the Xena/Gabrielle camp myself.

Wish I felt better. I hope it's just allergies. My ears hurt, throat's sore, drainage going on. Big Sigh.

I miss Firefly. The best tv show on tv this season and it gets cancelled. It would take conventional movie crap and turn it on it's head. I loved all the characters. They were so strong in their personalities it was either love them or hate them. I just don't understand why people didn't like the show.

My job is so boring I can't stand it. Same thing day in, day out. I wanna quit so bad..........but I lack the nerve. I hate job hunting and in this economy........hard to find one. It's just that it's so repetitive, and requires no thought whatsoever. Trained monkeys could do it. I do like my boss, but my coworkers are another story and a great deal of why I want to quit.

Alice is "shy" (read rude). I was way shy all through school. I know how shy people behave. She's just flat out rude. If I say good morning to her, most of time I won't get a response. She ignores me. She's married to Sam, a charmer in and of himself who used to work out there before he quit. Called me an incompetent bitch on my birthday one year a few years ago. I guess that's why he couldn't handle his job, quit, and couldn't get rehired out there later. My immediate supervisor couldn't stand him either. And I'm so incompetent my boss (immediate supervisor's supervisor) gave me the highest raise possible last year. Never have had an unsatisfactory performance review. So there. sticks out tongue.

Randolph is okay. He talks to me, but doesn't go out of his way. Not friends with each other.

Suzy's okay. Very, very, deeply religious though. I'm not. She's kinda preachy, but I like her. We talk.

Mike's okay. Friendly enough. So is Lana, but she's very good friends with Alice. And they stop talking when I come up to them to talk with them usually on work stuff. Lana's also friends with Chris--more on him later.

2003-01-23 - 10:52 a.m.

I was adopted by this little, pathetic-looking, starving stray about 2 months ago. She looked so sad and you could count the number of ribs she had she was so thin. I've been taking care of her for the last 2 months. She saw the vet before Christmas, and the vet thought she was about 8 months old at that time. Ear mites. Had the very basic vaccinations done, can't afford anything more right now. She's an indoor/outdoor cat. I'd like to get all the vaccinations for her. She's now a healthy 6 lbs. Possibly a little more now. She looks like she's getting a belly on her. I hope she's not pregnant. I'm having her spayed this Tuesday. Unless she's pregnant of course. sigh. She's a calico cat. She's so calm and sweet natured. She'll curl up in your lap purring at you for a long, long time. Not at all like my other cat. We've been calling her Lil Sis.

I already had a cat. My other cat is part Ragdoll, part unknown. She's about 17 lbs. Vet wants her to lose weight. I call her Mervis. She's all white with gold eyes. Her body is such that she looks like a male lion--she has a ruff around her neck, and a long body, and short stubby legs. She can move though. Zoom, Zoom, Zoooooooooooooom. Faster than a speeding bullet. She's about 18 months old. She's been spayed and had every vaccination known to vet kind. She gets angry to easily it's funny--to me anyway. When I pick her up, I'll ask her for a kiss, and sometimes she'll turn her nose up for a kiss. Sometimes she ignores me, and sometimes it's NO. She'll put her paw up under my chin to hold me away. It's so funny. She's easily startled. No, she's not deaf. She's a beautiful cat.

My uncle who has an indoor/outdoor cat, Clyde, plays very rough with the animals. In one day, he played with my cat (to the extent he made her mad enough to draw blood) Mervis who is strictly an indoor cat, his cat, and 2 outdoor cats, all of who drew blood on him, got cat sractch fever (yes, it actually exists and is a serious blood infection) and tried to blame my cat. Not even!!! After being indoors only, having every vaccination, not to mention all the times she's drawn blood on me, I know she's not carrying the cat scratch infection. She's a biter, not a clawer. She doesn't claw furniture. Thank Goodness.

Mervis and Lil Sis have met a few times. Didn't go over well. Surprisingly enough, Lil Sis is the aggressor, and she intimdates my 17 lb cat. It's funny to watch. The thing is, is that I've bought a house, and Lis Sis has been living in it while it's being fixed up, and Mervis has been living with me where I live right now (with my mom). I don't know who they're going to react when I finally get to move into the house to each other being the same house. I guess they'll need to settle with each other before I get a dog.

I'll be so happy when I finally to get to move into my house. I bought it last week of August 2002. It had been used as a rent house or owned by people who didn't care for 17 yrs. It still has the original, 17 yr old wallpaper in the kitchen! And the original carpet in the bedrooms! It had held up better the newer carpet in the living room. The living room had holes in the carpet and looked like it needed to be re-stretched. So, basically we've gutted the house. It's mainly just been me and mom doing the work on it, with occassional help from other relatives. So it's been slow going, but it's getting there. There were 3 layers of linoleoum in the kitchen and laundry room. The last layer was the 17 yr old stuff. But the 3 layers were easier to get up than the linoleum in the bathroom that was mildewy. It was just one layer, but somebody went way overboard with the linoleum glue. Believe me, scraping up linoleum glue is tedious and hard back-breaking work. Made my body hurt in places I didn't know existed, and gave me really bad tendonitis in my arms.

I'm putting wood looking vinyl down in the entry, living room, kitchen, and some fabulous looking marble ceramic tile down in the laundry room and bathroom. I'm choosing my carpet right now for the bedrooms. I've painted my exterior doors a caramel color. My kitchen is sage green. I'm getting new appliances--fridge, microwave, stove, and eventually washer/dryer, but first comes furniture. Soon.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!