Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-13 - 7:53 a.m.

Well, it's Friday the 13th today. It can't be any worse than the Wednesday I had, can it? Oh wait, maybe it could. Really don't wanna find out though.

Wednesday, I didn't feel good but I came in to work anyway since it was my turn to work for the coworker who quite earlier. I didn't want to look like I was callin' in sick b/c I didn't want to do the job that day. I couldn't even shower or brush my teeth at home that morning. The water main had broken in front of my house at 1:30 am Wed. morning. The utility crew was out there by 3 am to work on it, but they were still working on it when I got up to shower and get ready for week. I felt so disgusting and smelly all day long. It was awful. My shower is my coffee. It wakes me up. I don't drink coffee since I don't like it. Then at work, I spent 40 minutes looking for the samples. Couldn't find them. Finally, I found them. Set up solids on them. Found out they didn't need solids ran, just the other analysis. Grrrrr. Then the robotics system went wonky on me when it came to the set up. What should have taken only 30-40 minutes to do, took over 3 hours of fighting with the robotics system. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR. Not to mention, of course, that I also had to do MY JOB that day also. I had maybe one short 10 minute break at 2 pm to eat my lunch, my cup of yogurt, since I was trying to leave at 3, instead of the usual two 15 minute breaks. I needed to leave at 3 (and leaving at 3 was overtime for me that day) since mom (a cosmetologist) was going to work on my hair.

A few months ago, I'd cut my hair off short. I liked it. It's straight hair.........mom convinced to put at perm in for volume. I thought it would be either wavy or straight. They can do perms these days to give volume which leaves the hair straight or slightly wavy. I wanted a perm for volume. Oh.MY.GOD. It's so curly I wanna cry and scream. I feel like just dye my hair red and put me in clown school. I HATE IT SO MUCH. Words cannot express my dislike of this hair and it's style now. She even cut it off shorter than I wanted it too.

Yesterday I went to Adult CPR class and Infant/Child CPR. It's good to get certified in these things.

We've hired a new guy! And it's actually male! Not a female! Major shock. Considering my boss, she usually hires females. I was rooting for a guy this time. He's supposed to start Tuesday. Whhhhhhhhhhheeeeeeeeee. Won't have to help cover that job during the week anymore! YES! We'll see how he works out. Boss lady said he acted eager to get started. He's in college majoring in biology? chemistry? Can't remember which one. Probably around 20. African American. That's all I know about him.

Got up late today, so I didn't have time to blow dry my hair before I left for work. Now, it's really curly looking. Yuck.

I just wish I could get out of the mood I've been in lately. I'm so angry all the time and I don't know why. I feel like I've got a permanent case of bad PMS right now. Maybe it's b/c I've been forgetting my thyroid med lately? And my iron pill? I have got to start remembering to take them. It's not helping, even if it's not the cause of it. I know I need some sleep too. I haven't slept good or much lately. Part of it is all these thunderstorms we've been having lately. Part of it is I hate sleeping and consider it a waste of time. I need a vacation I think. It's been over a year since I had one. And I have to work Sat and Sun this weekend. Yech.

I got to see my cousin Dale who I haven't seen in about a year and half. He was supervising the crew working on the street repair after the utility crew repaired the water main. It was nice talking to him. I always did like him.

More frigging thunderstorms. I've about decided I'm not meant to be online between the way the phone line has been acting up in the computer room, all the thunderstorms (every day this week and on and off for several weeks), and the way yahell as been acting. Sigh.

Got to work today. Remembered thyroid pill. Waiting for the hour to pass so I can eat. I'm hungry now. Whiny. Irritated with everything. Since I'm working the weekend, I get the following Friday off. It's the boss's way of avoiding paying us overtime for working the weekend. I'm considering taking off Wed and Thurs too although I don't have anywhere to go or money to go with. Maybe even if I just take the time off and stay home, it'll put me in a better mood. It's worth a try, ne?

I don't know if Dad is going to survive the summer or not. He has throat cancer but it's spread to his lymph nodes. He's been let out of intensive care but mom doesn't think he's gonna survive the summer. He went down real fast one day. His blood pressure was zero, granny (his mom) said. Mom and Dad have been divorced since I was three. I don't know Dad real well. Basically, I've only ever seen him once a year at Christmas. I've always wished to have had a relationship with him. But. It never happened. Every time he get sick, everyone expects me to run down there and be with him. What the hell? Cause he's my Dad? He's a stranger to me, and I always feel awkward around him. I don't know what to do or how to behave around him. I do feel like I should go down there and see him, but it's a day's drive--about 12 hours. It's selfish of me, but I don't want to drive that long just to see him or use up my vacation time for that. Even when he lived in a town about 20 minutes from me, he never came to visit me when I was growing up or called me and did as little as he could get away with. I think the only reason I saw him at Christmas was so he could take me out to his side of the family's Christmas tree and look like a good Dad to me. And he'd alway say we'll get together and do dinner next time I'm here. And he'd be here and I wouldn't even know about until he left since he never followed through. Never once did he follow through on his "We'll have dinner" promise. I've so many mixed emotions about this. I think I've his current mail address. I've mailed a get well card to him. I might mail a few letters to him. I've always wanted to be Daddy's girl and I never was. I envy those who were.

I may or may not have colon cancer myself and I'm not that old. Thanks to my family history and genetics. My primary care dr wants me to see a gasteroentologist about my stomach problems, which includes symptoms of colon cancer. Yikes. The doctor is supposed to call me Monday about which tummy doctor he wants me to see. With an appointment set up for me. Huh? I need to do that, not him. This is stressing me out.

His mom is 94 yrs old this year. Congrats to her. Wow. I hope I'm still as active and healthy as she is. She's still driving herself around. I've mailed her a b-day card. Nope, I'm not real close to Dad's side of the family.

Grrrr. The break room with the vending machine has a meeting in it, so I can't get into it to get something to eat for breakfast. I didn't eat breakfast at home since i was running late. Great. I'm trying not to get grumpy from being hungry, but I do when my blood sugar gets low. Mood worsening. Trying to not let it do so though.

My nails are finally getting long again. I thought they'd never grow back.

Well, that's enough out of me for now.

Ja ne, minna-san!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!