Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-18 - 8:04 a.m.

Well, one thing to be grateful for. My coworkers are pissing me off something fierce so it's helping me lose weight. I get mad at them and then go home and exercise....wheee! I keep thinking, if I'm thinner it'll be easier for me to be hired for another job, but I'm mainly doing it for my health. Yes, people, including employers, judge ya on your weight. Studies have shown thin people earn more money than fat people even doing the same job.

I'm also looking for another job. A Barnes and Noble is supposed to open up sometime in October here in town. I'm hoping to be able to get on there--part-time or full-time. I'm hoping if it's part-time that it'll work into full-time so that I can quit my job here. I'm hoping they don't pull a Foley's. Foley's just opened up in town a little while ago, and they brought all their employees from other stores--they didn't hire anyone from town! Assholes! I just can't stand my job anymore and it's b/c of my coworkers attitudes. Dealing with bitchy customers, state people, and coworkers is just too much stress for me. Not to mention bitchy, unhappy mom. Something's got to give. I like being able to, for the most part, set my hours, and the flexibility the job provides, but with no raise this year or next year due to the economy, no promotion potential either, why stay? Stupid economy, please recover so more jobs are available. I want my 5% raise that I was due this year, damn it. Just so ya know, that's the highest possible raise a person can receive. As far as I know, I'm the only person out here to get a 5% raise ever from my boss. She's very tough. I got it last year, and was due it this year too b/c of my evaluation, but due to the economy didn't get it. Won't get it again next year either b/c of the economy, we've already been informed of no raises for next year.

I can't stand my coworkers. Hell, yesterday I went to the walk in fridge to get something, tore the package down, and trashed it. Then, a few minutes later while I was having a bad nosebleed that I was having trouble stopping, Russ, asshole that he is, came in and lectured me about the packaging trash I'd put in the trashcan. Told me I should take it out! He acts like he's the only one who can use the damn trashcan in the front of the building. It's not his personal trashcan--it's for everyone. Asshole. He didn't even ask what was wrong or if I was okay and he saw me holding the damn bloody tissues under my nose! Just lectured me. You're not my boss, bastard, just a coworker.

About 15-20 minutes later after I'd gone into the fridge, my boss, the manager, not the immediate supervisor, walked that way, and the door was open! I really don't think it was me. I swung the door shut after I left the fridge, and it was nearly closed when I checked on it. It's a very heavy door that's always trying to swing shut, it's hard to keep open. Maybe a gust of wind caught it? I think more likely someone else went in after me, and didn't close it. I could hear her asking everyone who had done it, she didn't ask me, and I didn't volunteer since I don't think I did it. She really lectured a couple of other departamental employees, who go in and out of the fridge and leave the door open. They denied it though. Maybe it was my "fault"? I really don't think so though. As I said it was nearly closed, and it's a very heavy door that's always trying to swing shut.

I set up some tests Friday that could either be read back Saturday or put in the fridge for me to read back on Monday. My immediate supervisor, who I do like mostly, was "confused" by the plates, screwed up the read back, and trashed the plates instead of putting them in the fridge. What the hell? Really pissed me off. All that work ruined. Gee, thanks, moron. There was nothing confusing about it. He just doesn't like working anything but his job. He's pulled crap like this before, like "forgetting" to make solutions since he just didn't want to. Grr.

My current job is just so boring, and stressful. Dealing with super bitchy customers coming in to complain at me. Blaming me for their errors. Yeah, right.

Let's not forget the super rude voicemails I've been getting lately either. Hell, one bitch was reaming me out *in my voicemail* about how I talked too fast on the message and that telephone etiquette dictates I should talk slower, yadda yadda, yadda, after a minute or two of this, I just deleted the message, I don't even know what she wanted. Here's the moral for you people: If ya want someone to call you back, just leave your name, number, and a brief message about what you wanted. And don't snarl it either. If you can't be polite on the voicemail, why would I want to call you back? I do so *love* dealing with angry, nasty people. Not.

Oh, and people, it's not my fault if the telephone operator when you call information tells you the wrong number and you call my number. Don't take your anger out on me. I had nothing to do with it, and they won't correct it. I've tried.

The last month has been very stressful. Let's see, my outpatient surgery a couple of weeks ago came out well. I did have a tiny colon polyp(!) (at my age(!!!) I'm too young!! Thanks family genes!! NOT!!) and random biopiosies done and they came back begnin (non cancerous). They also went down my throat and looked at my stomach, no ulcers, and my throat looked okay too. I was out during the procedure. I do kinda remember thinking "Thank God that's over" after they got through with the throat/stomach part. I woke up during the colonscopy part. Probably the last 20 minutes of it. They blow air up your colon to expand it and see what's going on with the scope. The gas/air pains hurt, and sometimes the movement of the scope, but I thought it was very interesting to watch on the tv. Not every day you get to see your colon. I even saw it bleed when he cut the polyp off. Heh. Mom drove me home, but before we went home, I had her take me to the early voting. Boy, she gave me a weird look, "Are you sure you're up to it?" Yep. Voted. Went home, napped, felt bad. Missed work the next day.

Finished frantically trying to get everything updated for the lab inspection. Had my path red test to set up Monday, got 2 hours of overtime doing it. Lab inspection Tuesday. Whee. Passed with flying colors. No "findings" were found--nothing negative. One recommendation to put the word date in the QC manual in this particular phrase. Hehheheheheheh. That's Amy's job to maintain, not mine, since she's the QC person.

Then yesterday, got up, was getting dressed, doorbell rang, it was mom bearing news--I had a flat tire on my car. Totally flat--it was on the rim. Geez. She took me to work, then around 2:50 or so picked me up, she'd bought a tire compressor to inflate the tire. We inflated the tire, went to the tire station, was told it would be today before it got fixed by one employee. Went outside to see if mom knew of any other place that could do it today. Went back inside to set up appointment for tomorrow. The other employee waited on me this time, said they could do it this afternoon, but said it would be an hour or more. Fine I said. So I waited from about 3:30 pm to 5:00 pm. Got it fixed. The first employee told me since I had to wait so long, it was free! All right! I thanked him several times.

I started exercising a few days before my colonscopy. I remember when I first started going to my doctor, he weighed me in at 175 lbs. I'm trying to eat healthier, and exercise every day. I'm now down to about 158-159 lbs. Go me! I've been doing Richard Simmon's Disco Sweat tape just about everyday. I think Mom bought it sometime during the '90s. I try to do it everyday. Heck, last night I did it at 7:30 to 8:30 pm. I'm getting excited about losing weight. I want to get healthier. I want to feel better about myself. I don't want to do stuff at my current weight. It depresses me.

I need to make an appointment with my doctor to get a referral to an ear, nose, throat doctor. My sinuses/ears are bothering me. My right ear is ringing badly, and I can't get the pressure to equalize in my ears underwater. It hurts to even dive deep in a pool. I'd like to take up scuba diving. That woman on the show Adventure, Inc.? She's my hero...active, no nonsense, tough, take care of herself gal who is a divemaster. I can take care of my self, but a fist fight? Never. Handle dangerous situations? Never. I hate confrontations. I go out of my way to avoid them. Like not telling Russ what I thought of his little lecture on "my trash".

Loved the Pirates of the Carribean movie. I can't wait for the sequel. Johnny Deep has got to be my all time fave actor. I've loved him for years. This movie just makes me love him all the more.

I'm getting close to finishing watching the Weiss Kruez boxset. Fun show. Lousy animation at time though. Aya's my fave character on my show. He's just so angsty. He has legimate reasons to be that way, which is more than I can say for most of the rest of the cast like Ken....oh, I can't play professional soccer anymore........ooooooooh, yeah, I feel for ya, buddy. But I do like Ken. He's grown on me, but he's still the last one on my like list of the good guys for the show.

Then I need to watch Beserk one and two. Finally got my replacement DVD's from rightstuf. Now, if only they'd send my MKR2 replacement DVDs.

I don't want to spend any more money right now, the www.rightstuf.com makes it hard not to with the sale going on right now. Eyes sale. Contemplates credit card bill. Sighs. Undecided.

I want to sell/rent the house and take off. Where I don't know, but I want to live near the ocean, at most only an hour or two away from the ocean. I did after all major in marine biology at one point during college. Wish I'd followed through with it. Wish I'd followed through with a lot of things. Sigh. Too late now.

I want to take the GRE I just don't know what I want to major in. Do I want to study viruses, infectious diseases, wildlife biology, or something else? Truth to tell, I'm still interetested in biology but I'm sick of lab work. I've been doing lab work since 1996--boring lab work. Not research.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!